I would like to welcome you to my blog where I will be chatting about some of my favourite recipes, recipe experiments and sharing some credit crunch, recycling, trashion and frugal living tips.
I asked them why those products aren't vegan. they replied to say:The list of products that I gave you do not contain animal products what so ever, but they are not suitable for vegetarians for other reasons.I will ask our company nutritionist for further information, however this information may be commercially sensitive. I will get back to you as soon as I hear from her.
Curiouser and curiouser....
Hi again, I finally had a follow-up email from Britvic: Thank you for your patience. The further information that you requested is of a commercially sensitive and competitive nature which, if divulged, could affect our ability to compete freely and fairly with our competitors. This includes details of our raw materials, suppliers and he origin of raw materials used as well as the specific formula and recipe information other than ingredients lists.To make things a little clearer about which products are suitable for vegans and vegetarians please see the composed lists below. These products are not suitable for vegetarians,Cidona AppleGatorade 01 Prime OrangeGatorade 01 Prime Mixed BerryGatorade 03 Recover Mixed BerryMountain Dew AmpMiwadi No Added Sugar TropicalMiwadi No Added Sugar Double Concentrate Tropical7Up Free7Up Cherry These products are not suitable for Vegans,Cidona AppleEnergise EnergyRobinsons Fruit Shoot My 5 Apple and BlackcurrantGatorade 01 Prime OrangeGatorade 01 Prime Mixed BerryGatorade 03 Recover Mixed BerryMountain Dew AmpMiwadi No Added Sugar TropicalMiwadi No Added Sugar Double Concentrate TropicalPepsi Diet Cffeine FreePepsi DietPurdey's7Up Free/Cherry I can confirm that no Britvic products contain any animal derivatives nor are they used in their production.Once again thank you for your patience and for contacting Britvic.
But noo! Is double-bluff. Is contradiction. How can products not be suitable for vegetarians and/or vegans, and yet at the same time be devoid of animal derivatives, or use of said derivatives in the production process?!?! Is overwhelmingly ambiguous response. Thanks for doing the handiwork Pickles, I'll just go weep and into my pillow now. I don't drink fizzy drinks often, perhaps only ever as a once-a-month indulgence. I'll have to bury the bad habit with finality, I guess. Little faith in world. Big corporations are never to be trusted methinks.
If they use creature bits to filter, make clear, fix colour etc I would describe them as not vegan despite not containing any derivatives?