Vegan Crisps and Popcorn type snacks in the UK

See new blog for crisp article.

10 comments:

  1. Have all these unspecified 'flavourings' been verified with all the different makers as being vegan?
    So many turn out to not be vegan, have hidden dairy or other animal parts in there, even when written as 'natural flavourings.
    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  2. No. Most are taken from vegan lists provided by walkers, sainsburys etc. Others are just pictures that have been given to me to be included. All of them as far as i'm aware say suitable for vegetarians and no dairy listed in the ingredients, just the usual allergy warning. As with all the lists, we can only take them at face value and ingredients get changed all the time. This is not an exact database, just a guide, and I always advice people to do there own checks, as I have not checked on everything. Please let us know if there is anything listed that you know not to be vegan. Thanks The Vegan Womble Team

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi there
    We are vegetarian, but my daughter has taken the next step and decided to go vegan. We like our crisps so glad to have found your page. I do note however that while many of these listed are described as suitable for vegetarians, but not vegan, also some say 'may contain milk' (which I understand is often used as a fixative for flavours). Any way of knowing the difference, further advice you may be able to offer?
    Thanks again
    Ron

    ReplyDelete
  4. Not all companies label vegan, just vegetarian, although more and more are realising its a good thing to do. If the product contains milk, as a fixative or ingredients they have to say so, as milk is an allergen. May contain is on most items that are not made in a vegan factory as they are made on the same equipment with the products that do contain milk. They have to put this in case there is a trace there after the cleaning process. Nothing to worry about if you don't have a allergy. If you are on fb I also have a group that you and your daughter may wish to join. Link in the article. Thanks for asking. Good luck with becoming vegan and feel free to ask any questions. Preferable in my group, but if your you or your daugher are not on fb, then ask on any post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They don't have to label e.g. lactitol as milk-derived, as it's considered to be dairy-free, so not covered by allergen labelling.

      Honey is not an allergen, so can be hidden under miscellaneous "flavourings". So I avoid e.g. BBQ or Thai flavour things if I can't identify everything.

      Any food containing fruit may have had animal-based coatings on, e.g. shellac, beeswax, or chitosan, which won't be in the ingredients.

      Plus vinegar, alcohol or fruit juice ingredients may have been clarified with animal products.

      Apart from those things to look out for though, a combination of vegetarian and allergen labelling usually suffices.

      Delete
  5. Just been shopping at Tesco online, found some issues which makes me really doubt manufacturers and their lists, which is a massive shame.

    Some Walkers products from their vegan list - Sensations Mexican Fiery Chipotle, Deli Pepper And Tomato Pita Crisps (and a couple more that I forgot to note) and also Propercorn coconut and vanilla (which even their own description on site says are vegan) - all contain milk. The Worcester sauce flavoured Propercorn is also suspect to me.

    Is this something you've come across often? If such a straight forward ingredient can pass as vegan, what's to say more vague ones don't get checked and actually come from animals?
    This is quite upsetting.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love your dedication (obsession?) to the world of snacking. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. if you think crisps are milk free just because it doesnt say milk on the ingredients you are in for a shock because they use it for chemicals and stuff, even salt and vinager is notorious for containing milk though it does not say, sorry

    ReplyDelete
  8. Hi there! I'm a new vegan as of yesterday so looking at advice! A lot of crisps and snacks contain sugar but the list doesn't say whether isn't refined using bone char which of course isn't vegan friendly.. Any ideas on whether the companies know that?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is a UK site and sugar is vegan in the UK. In the US about 50% is vegan and the other 50% uses bone char. Luckily we don't need to worry about it, unless we buy US products.

      Delete