Pizza Hut Restaurant has a new menu and a new vegan base

7/10/16 update


UPDATE 6/10/15
Polly who works at a Pizza Hut restaruant (UK) has kindly provided us with the new menu change info as usual. She is so helpful.

The thin crust pizzas (now called all American thin) is NOT SUITABLE FOR VEGANS!
Low calorie pizza crust and the kids thin crust are NO LONGER VEGAN as they contain milk..

NEW Ultimate thin crust is SUITABLE FOR VEGANS.
PAN and GLUTEN FREE bases are still all VEGAN

All the veggie pizza toppings are vegan. You can swap cheese for something else for free. The wedges are also vegan. The bbq, sweet chilli, ketchup, salsa and vinaigrette are vegan too. All the fresh salad veggies, plain nachos, croutons, bacon bits are vegan. The bbq pasta and couscous on the salad bar come with a cross contamination risk from the products factory so that's personal preference.

They also now sell chips and onion rings that are suitable for vegans too.

The garlic bread doesn't contain diary, but is listed as not vegan and there is a E number in it of potential animal origin and I have been unable to find out the source of it as of yet.

Please note the Pizza Hut Delivery is a separate company with separate products. So this info is just for the restaurant.



We are on facebook. We have a page and a chat room. Please feel free to join us.

10 comments:

  1. Vegan bacon bits?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes they are usually made from soya. Easily available in supermarkets and home bargains. Nice sprinkled in a sandwich for a different taste and texture.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Gluten free pizza base has egg whites in it

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. According to their latest nutritional ingredients sheet, these are the ingredients. There is no egg listed.
      Maize Starch, Water, Rice Flour, Buckwheat Flour, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Yeast, Psyllium Husk Powder, Sugar, Glycerine, Salt, Potato Starch, Soya Protein Isolate, Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Colour: Paprika Extract.

      Delete
    2. This is the link to the nutritional info. If it was the delivery pizza hut they have different ingredients, this article is restaurant only.
      http://www.pizzahut.co.uk/content/pdf/campaign/P10W3_1415/IngredientsAllegens.pdf

      Delete
    3. I have just double checked with Polly who helped put this together. It is just a allergy warning of may contain traces of egg. There is no intentional egg ingredients in the bases, picture added to article showing ingredients on box.

      Delete
  4. Hey, I've just found the Pizza Hut Delivery & Express gallery menu, thought it'd be useful for people concerned about vegan bases :) https://www.pizzahut.co.uk/content/pdf/campaign/P10W3_1415/IngredientsAllegens.pdf

    ReplyDelete
  5. I would not trust information from the website. My friend tried to order me a pizza on deep pan base (appears suitable on website allergy list) only to be handed a list from the store which confirmed the only thing suitable on the menu was the potato wedges. I emailed pizza hut to try and clear up the discrepancy and they just fobbed me off by referring me back to the website. I won't be eating there again

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Allergy listings are more strict that what the ingredients are. If they are cooked in the same part of the kitchen as a particular food, or prepared on the same surface, then the allergen information include potential cross contamination as a safe measure. This won't matter to many vegans, who won't touch Oreo's because some of the machines in the factory also handle some of the flavors of Oreo's that have milk ingredients. So if you are turned off by the potential that something may have touched your food rather than been an actual ingredient, then by all means, go by the allergen information. Otherwise, the ingredient information is accurate and the 'recipe' is vegan, even if the food may have been breathed on by someone who ate meat. Sorry, that is what we have to deal with if we go to a meat eater's place...

      Delete