OUR UNOFFICIAL MORRISONS VEGAN LIST

8/08/2016 - TRANSFERRED TO HERE AND WILL BE UPDATED ON OUR NEW BLOG FROM NOW ON.

OK, so Morrisons don't do a vegan list. They do sell however plenty of food that is vegan. This is the Vegan Wombles Team attempt at doing our own. After reading many labels and taking many photos and contacting Morrisons for some of the products this is our list. Everything has not been checked with Morrisons and this is not a allergy list. So most things say may contain traces of milk, eggs etc. As this has been put together over several months, please do double check ingredients as formulas can change and unfortunately sometimes no longer be vegan. More will be added as we get pictures.
THIS IS A WORKING PROGRESS - PLEASE LET US KNOW IF YOU SPOT ANY ERRORS AND WE ARE STILL COLLECTING PHOTOS THANKS.
We are on facebook. We have a page and a chat room. Please feel free to join us.
WE ALSO HAVE A UNOFFICIAL ASDA LIST TOO!


BAKING INGREDIENTS AND CAKE MIXES





 


 EVEN PINK AND RED OK














BISCUITS

They have tubs of gingerbread men in the bakery section. The asda ones and the ones sold in pound shops are also vegan. Probabaly all made by the same company as they have same packaging!
Pound shop also has football shape ones!















BREAD SECTION

Bakery list June 2015

White Bloomer

Tiger Bread (not cheese!)

White Farmhouse Loaf,

Granary Loaf,

Hedgehog Bread,

White and Wmeal Med Bread,

Sourdough Bloomer

Crusty \seeded Bloomer
































CEREALS



































CHOCOLATE












CRACKERS













CRISPS
Single large 150g pack




6 packs


 6 packs

 Single packs
  Single packs
  Single pack snacks 
6 pack show, but these popcorns are also available in single packs.
Christmas Snacks in star shapes



next to the fruit and veg are these dried fruit and vegetable 'crisps'



FRIDGE












These Samosa's don't have 'suitable for vegetarians' on the packaging, but have confirmed they are animal free.









Just two of the many houmous's that Morrisons have.









Below are in the fridge, by the salad leaves

 




















Salad Bar - Falafel


FROZEN - SAVOURY


 



















FROZEN - SWEET









READY MEALS

This is the ingredients off the old packaging. Still vegan, don't know if the ingredients are identical.






SAVOURY ITEMS - SAUCES, SALAD DRESSINGS, PACKET MIXES ETC


































SOUPS AND CANNED MEALS

















GRAINS, PASTA, RICE, GNOCHI ETC







SWEETS
11/05/15 Morrisons supermarket is bringing in halal-only pick and mix counters so that Muslim customers don't have to check the ingredients of their sweets.
A selection of 36 sweets - including liquorice sticks, cola bottles, jelly beans and gummy bears - are on sale, all guaranteed to be free of animal products or alcohol-based ingredients.
The 10 stores trialling the scheme include Blackburn, Bolton, Preston, Bradford, West Bromwich, Birmingham, Leamington Spa and three in London







new packaging for some below, this is old packaging.







SWEET TREATS
Morrisons free from millionaires shortbread

Morrisons 6 sticky ginger buns!



 Morrisons own brand apple and blackcurrant pies
Morrisons apple pies 



 Free from flapjack, although its easy to find vegan flapjacks, its nice to see a wheat free one.


Christmas Finds





Only the banana flavour is vegan and the vitamin D has been confirmed with Morrisons that is its from a non animal source.


NUTS AND SEEDS AND SNACKS












WINE
M Signature Prosecco Spumante M Signature Vintage Cava Brut
 Morrisons Vinho Verde
 M Signature Verdicchio
M Signature Grüner Veltliner
  Morrisons Sauvignon Blanc
 M Signature Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc
 Morrisons Chenin Blanc
M Signature Champagne Brut
 Signature Soave Classico
M Signature Trentino Pinot Grigio
M Signature Rueda
M Signature Touraine Sauvignon Blanc
M Signature Albariño
M Signature Godello
 M Signature Fiano
 M Signature Petit Chablis
M Signature Chablis
M Signature Chablis Premier Cru
 M Signature Beaujolais Villages
M Signature Fleurie
M Signature Red Burgundy
M Signature Sangiovese Superiore
 Morrisons Cabernet Sauvignon
 Morrisons Claret
 Morrisons Pinotage
Morrisons Chianti
 M Signature Carmenère
 M Signature South African Shiraz
 M Signature Lussac-Saint-Émilion
M Signature Côtes du Rhône Villages
M Signature Valpolicella Ripasso
 M Signature Barossa Shiraz
 M Signature Châteauneuf-du-Pape
 M Signature Pinot Gris
 M Signature Alsace Gewürztraminer
M Signature Italian Pinot Grigio Rosé

OTHER BOOZE
They have a internal list and you can ring them to check for you, hoping to get the list for cider ETC too, will add any that have been checked to this list until we get one. Most spirits like vodka, brandy and rum are usually vegan. If anyone gets any further lists, please contact me so you can pass the info onto me so we can make this a great resource.
M Dry cider confirmed suitable for vegans.
Also available in 500ml glass bottles and 4 x pint cans.


 
We are on facebook. We have a page and a chat room. Please feel free to join us.

38 comments:

  1. Wow comprehensive list! Well done and thanks.

    I just need to avoid the Palm oil as imo that isnt vegan. It may not be an animal product but is heavily detrimental to animals.

    xx

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. By that logic you need to avoid all crops and starve, because all crops replace wildlife habitats :(

      It is vegan because it is a plant. But it is your own choice whether to buy it, like plastic bags etc. But please read this before telling people it is not vegan. Thanks :)

      https://www.facebook.com/GrumpyOldVegan/posts/567339423377969

      Delete
  2. This is brilliant! Thank you :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don't think the garlic breads you have listed are vegan, but from the Morrisons website, it appears that their garlic pizza bread might be :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. OK, I will recheck them. This article was put together over a long period and recipes may of changed. I know none of the fridge ones are vegan. The ones listed are all frozen. Thanks for the heads up.

      Delete
  4. Hey! Just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate you taking the time to make this!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Really good update for my daughter's shopping list. A few new surprises. Thank you and keep up the great work!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the list. I wish Morrison's could just label the food with vegan signs. Sainsburys are great for this and when you do an online shop all you need to do is write Vegan in their search and hundreds of things come up.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Did you get to the bottom of whether the garlic bread is vegan? Thanks

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. When I checked in May they was. But recipes can change so frequently with companies changing suppliers. Do be sure to read labels.

      Delete
    2. I'm doing my shopping now, it looks like the M saver ones now have milk powder :(

      Delete
    3. Thanks for letting us know. Will remove them from article.

      Delete
  8. This is great work thank you for your excellent work.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow... excellent list.. well done for putting all this effort in... :) x

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thank you so much for this list. Morrisons is my local supermarket and where I shop predominantly. I've scanned over this as thoroughly as possible. I didn't notice (correct me if I am wrong) Heinz beans. There are Dhal curry lentils and fajhita beans that are all next to eachother which are very cheap at £1.31, also vegan. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh yes they sell tons of other brands that are vegan. This is a Morrisons brand only list. They also sell Frys frozen products in the vegetarian freezer section amongst other brands and vegan almond dream ice cream in the free from freezer.

      Delete
  11. Am I to defer that all variations of these products are also vegan(or atleast most)?

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am confused if it say may contain milk or eggs how is this vegan food? Please explain... Many Thanks...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Legally companies have to put this is they make products in the factories that contains allergens, just in case a few molecules landed on the vegan food. They are not intentional ingredients, that is the key thing. So only a worry to anyone with a allergy. Hope this explains it, this is also the vegan societies guide. Would be difficult to live in a world where there wasn't potential traces of animal products unless you could only buy from vegan companies that have also bought there ingredients from vegan companies.

      Delete
  13. Hi, bought some of the Fruit and Fibre cereal the other day and noticed that the banana slices have honey in them. As you say it is still best to check ingredients as they can change. Thankyou so much for doing the list I refer to it all the time x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for alerting us to this. I have removed the picture from this guide and our cereal one. Kelloggs fruit and fibre is a nice alternative.

      Delete
  14. I have found many of these products to contain palm oil which in my opinion is not vegan... What is your view?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I believe the same as the vegan society that palm oil is technically vegan. Yes I know that it is causing deforestation and problems for orang-utans. I am glad that there is substainable palm oil otherwise I think it would be difficult as a vegan. Luckily a lot of companies now use substainable and lots of suparmarkets are moving in the write direction, although Morrisons is not good so far. This blog is to post vegan items, and not for ethical debate, I don't eat or use all companies that I list, but have decided to dedicate the blog to providing vegan finds and will let people make there own minds up on ethical issues. I used to be a pain when it came to the ethical side and this didn't do anything for the vegan movement, I have changed my attitude to promoting veganism and letting others decide for themselves. This is a good resource.

      Delete
    2. http://www.ethicalconsumer.org/shoppingethically/palmoilfreelist.aspx

      Delete
  15. This list is great, thank you so much!
    I'm very new to veganism, so sorry if it's a stupid question, but is tomato ketchup vegan?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Glad you are finding this useful. Lots are eg Heinz, but some of the cheaper own brand supermarket ones contain milk. So just be sure to check ingredients. There is no need to by a free from one, as Heinz is vegan.

      Delete
  16. This is amazing! Thankyou!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Many thanks team for your time and effort in compiling this list, i found it very useful. It is also heartwarming to find that people have gone to so much trouble .....being Vegan can be quite isolating in a world of non thinking, uncaring humans....Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  18. Thanks so much for taking the time to put this together. I'll be sure to contribute anything new that I come across.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Thank you so much! It must have been a lot of work to put all of this together.
    <3

    ReplyDelete
  20. I am currently 'veganising' our usual Thursday evening comfort food dinner and was panicking because I couldn't find Linda McCartney mince at our usual shops. Thanks to this list I realise that we can continue to use the Morrisons mince, so nothing needs to change from what we usually do.

    I went from vegetarian to vegan at the weekend and have spent a lot of time researching. Pretty much every Google search I do, this website turns up and the information you provide is amazing, thank you :D

    ReplyDelete
  21. This list is great and really helpful, thanks!

    I've got myself a bit confused lately over mono and diglycerides. I understand that mono is usually animal derived but on lots of vegan friendly stuff it says both but is marked as vegetarian. Does this mean they haven't used any animals fats??

    Also, if a product has lactic acid in (usually as an acidity regulator) but as labelled vegetarian suitable, does this also mean suitable for vegans? I understand that it is naturally found in blood and muscle so surely if it's veggie, it's vegan... Typically Jus Roll products say this.

    Any advice much appreciated!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No need to worry, if they are labelled vegetarian they will be from non animal sources such as seeds. So basically if you see E471 or mono and diglycerides so long as its labelled vegetarian and doesn't contain any other non vegan products such as dairy, eggs, shellac E904 and honey http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e471.htm

      Delete
    2. A lot of Jus Roll products have been confirmed vegan. http://theveganwomble.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/apple-danish-taste-test.html

      Delete
  22. Thank you for the informative list so many vegan products unknown to me

    ReplyDelete
  23. Wow thanks for doing this. It takes a lot of time going around checking all the ingredients. I really appreciate this.

    ReplyDelete
  24. Be sure to check on our new blog now though, link at top as this won't be updated anymore.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Thank you very much - clearly a lot of hard work has gone into compiling this list.

    ReplyDelete